Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Four MPAs Join the National System of Marine Protected Areas

Four existing Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) - Lydonia, Norfolk, Oceanographer, and Veatch canyons, which are gear restricted areas established under the Tilefish Fishery Management Plan are now part of the National System of MPAs.

The four MPAs were nominated by NOAA Fisheries in conjunction with the Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council. Under the revised Tilefish Fishery Management Plan, these areas are closed to bottom trawling gear to protect clay outcroppings, which can provide shelter to tilefish. The four areas are the first Federal fishery management sites to be listed in the National System of MPAs.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave your comments about saltwater issues.